NEMWCL The North-East Mid-Week Cricket League 2018

Click here to select team of choice





Welcome to the Home of NE England Mid Week Cricket

Welcome to the North-East Mid-Week Cricket League web site. Here every team that plays in the league can have their own area for team specific news, personalised fixture listings, and batting and bowling averages, team profile, history and instructions to where they play.

The league was first formed in 1970 and has been growing in stature ever since. There are five divisions of up to eight teams and has the status of being the largest league in the North East of England.

A full History of the league from its formation through to current times is available and teams are invited to enquiry about joining through the "Contact Us" page of this web site.
Click on the highlighted area to the left to set personalised settings for the site such as your team of choice for news and division of interest for league table listings. Once selected these will be displayed the next time the web site is visited.

View Teams Division I
Division II
Division III
Division IV

League News

Indoor Cricket Opportunities

    (Posted On Thu 20 September)

Message from James Morgan - apply direct.

Newcastle Indoor League
Time:- Thursday evenings. Game 1 - 6pm & Game 2 - 7pm.
Start Date:- Thursday 4th October.
End Date:- Thursday 14th December
Venue:- St Cuthbert’s High School, NE15 7PX
Cost Per Team:- £30 per team per week. (£3 per head)
Contact:- / 07772214416

6 or 8 players per team. Rules can be downloaded.

Download Indoor Rules


Finals Day

    (Posted On Mon 10 September)

The Paddlers Plate Final was played first with NE Tamils posting a useful 137 all out off 16 8 ball overs. Patrick Sam opened with 30 as John Marshall took 3-33 and Dave Hadley 4-35. Eaga Old Boys were always up with the rate and won by 5 wickets with 3 balls to spare. Andy Jennison opened and made 51 supported by 26 from Davey Marshall and 33 not out from John Marshall. Sajeevan Kumar took 3-32 in the close finish.

In the Just Sport Cup Final Kirkwood elected to bat and posted 198-3 based on a magnificent 100 not out from Mukhtar Hussain. There was 32 from Usman Mahroof and 33 from Jaswinder Singh in setting this big target off 16 overs. Northern Rangers fell just short after a good reply making 174-7 with openers Alen Mustard 31 and Emdad Ahmed 27 putting on 54 for the first wicket. Joe Hewison made 56 with Amjad Ali and Asad Bukhari each taking 2 wickets.

Arrangements at Percy Main CC were excellent with Paddy Rathbone; umpires were Peter Woodley and Tony Naylor with Gillian Woodley scoring. Just Sport provided the match balls and League President Malcolm Kennedy CBE presented the awards.

Download full report which includes scoreboards.

Download Eaga Team
Download NE Tamils Team
Download Kirkwood Team
Download Northern Rangers Team
Download Full Report and Photos


Presentations Evening Expanded

    (Posted On Sun 9 September)

A few more observations from the season following confirmations at the Presentations Meeting.

Finals Day is at Percy Main CC today. Plate Final 11:30am followed by Cup Final at 2:30pm approximately.

Download Weekly Press Report

More News
  Indoor Cricket Opportunities
Download Indoor Rules
(Thu 20 September)
  Finals Day
Download Eaga Team Download NE Tamils Team Download Kirkwood Team Download Northern Rangers Team Download Full Report and Photos
(Mon 10 September)
  Presentations Evening Expanded
Download Weekly Press Report
(Sun 9 September)
Download Presentations 2018 Download Minutes of Meeting 6th September Download Final Tables Download Best Performances Download Special Awards Top Contenders
(Sat 8 September)
  New and Returning Teams Invited to Apply for 2019
(Sun 2 September)
more league news ...